Tim Reidy successfully defended his AMCA Nationals South Australian Title, taking out the 30 lap feature event at Murray Bridge Speedway over the weekend.

Reidy started the Active Motor Wreckers sponsored A-Main on the front row alongside Stewart Grant Campbell and was quick to whip around the outside to lead the field through the opening lap. Hopkins would also challenge Campbell in the early stages, to move up into second spot, with drivers also contesting for positions further back, triggering a spin by Shannon Hilder which brought on the first caution on Lap 7.

Hopkins was keeping right behind Reidy on the restart, with Campbell also showing good pace in third, before pulling infield with engine problems. Reidy extended his lead to several car lengths in the middle stages and was about to begin lapping the back markers before a slowing Justin Richardson triggered the yellow lights at the midway point.

Reidy again looked comfortable on the restart, with Hopkins within a car length and Paul Howard now up in third.

In the battle for the final podium positions, Rodney Bassett seemed to run wide in Turn 2 and collided with the fence, with Hilder collecting him on his way pass, also sending him into the fence and bringing on the red lights.

It would then be a 7-lap race to the finish, with Reidy and Hopkins still in positions one and two, with Michael Kiraly putting pressure on Howard for third.

But Reidy would continue from the front to take the SA #1, ahead of Hopkins, Howard, Kiraly and Tasmanian Adrian Jones completing the Top 5.

AMCAs SA Title A-Main Results: 1. V79 Tim Reidy; 2. V8 Stephen Hopkins; 3. V23 Paul Howard; 4. V6 Michael Kiraly; 5. Tas64 Adrian Jones; 6. S51 Braydon Bradley; 7. S42 John Stumann. DNF: T13 Rodney Bassett; V69 Shannon Hilder; V24 Darren McCarthy; V99 Justin Richardson; V97 Stewart Grant Campbell; V0 Malcolm Crick.

Nick Hall (V6 Sprints) Sam Martin (Wingless Sprints), Darren Brumfield (Street Stocks), Lachlan Brown (Junior Sedans) and Dylan Richter (Modlites) were the other feature race winners in the final race night of the season.

Photo: Savage Shots Photography

It’s Your Speedway, SA!

Ends Release…


No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *